What's Left Out
"With imagination and an eye for detail, writer and physician Jay Baruch takes readers on an unsparing ride through the strange landscape of contemporary health care to experience the bizarre, ignored, or misunderstood challenges facing healers and the ill. In this collection of short stories, communities shoulder unrelenting burdens, optimism is held with caution, and people ration their dreams and their sanity. Baruch’s vivid storytelling captures the emotionally fraught and absurd challenges he has faced during his twenty years as an emergency physician. The stories in What’s Left Out ask readers to take risks, to make leaps into unfamiliar territory, and, like the larger health care enterprise, to develop comfort and trust in the untraditional and unexpected."

“Too often stories of patients and doctors are reduced to good guys and bad guys. In this varied and imaginative collection, Jay Baruch offers a more complex, accurate, and fully human view of modern health care and the people whose lives are changed by it.”
—Louise Aronson, author of A History of the Present Illness and Associate Professor at the University of California, San Francisco

“Jay Baruch is a master storyteller in the tradition of Anton Chekhov, William Carlos Williams, and Abraham Verghese. In his powerful new collection of doctor stories, he shines a light into the nooks and crannies of the hospital and clinic, illuminating what is too often overlooked or ‘left out’—the longings, remorse, loneliness, and hopes of ordinary people struggling to find meaning in their broken lives. Baruch will dazzle you with his craft and move you by the depth of feeling he has for his characters.”
—David Biro, author of The Language of Pain: Finding Words, Compassion, and Relief

“The title of Jay Baruch’s second collection, What’s Left Out, seems to sum up not only the gifts of this book but of this writer as well—this is a man on whom nothing is lost. In these stories, we are given the gift of seeing as Baruch sees—with nuance and compassion, humor and insight—and are witness to an incredible range of lives, each one touched with the same generous light. That these are stories about health care seems, really, beside the point—these are stories about what is means to be alive.”
—Nellie Hermann, author of novels The Cure for Grief and The Season of Migration

Fourteen Stories: Doctors, Patients, and Other Strangers
“Jay Baruch has long been fascinated by how illness can make people strangers to their own bodies, how we all struggle to maintain control as the body decays and life slowly becomes unrecognizable, and how health professionals discover and struggle with the limits of their own competence and compassion.”

ForeWord Magazine 2007 Book of the Year Honorable Mention in the Short Story category.

“Plunging into one of Jay Baruch’s stories is like finding yourself in a busy Emergency Room at two in the morning—here you will meet characters whose lives are urgent and not always what they seem on the surface. Like his characters, Baruch’s writing is vibrant and intense, and his vision is prismatic. He speaks in many voices, among them doctor, patient, family member, medical student, and even ER janitor, and so examines the world of health and illness from many points of view. I appreciate the way Baruch acknowledges the complexity of life, and then dissects it for us into so many planes of action and consequence.”
--Cortney Davis, author of I Knew a Woman: Four Women Patients and Their Female Caregiver and Leopold’s Maneuvers.

“These edgy, heartfelt, wryly humorous stories... tell us what it’s really like to doctor, to patient, to suffer and to redeem.”
--Samuel Shem author of The House of God and Mount Misery.

"There are few books that have conjured such feelings of futility and powerlessness in me. But these stories can do just that precisely because of their immediacy and reality. They challenge the reader to reflect on suffering." --Medical Humanities

"...he manages to tell our stories, and he does so beautifully..." --Annals of Emergency Medicine

Have you hugged your EMR, lately?
KevinMD, first appeared in Littoral Medicine

(Dis)comfort Measures
Brief description goes here

Creative Writing as a Medical Instrument
Why health care providers must learn to think like creative writers

Hug or Ugh
Essay--Hastings Center Report

Big Incision
Essay--Annals of Internal Medicine

Recent and Selected Work

e.g. Fiction, History, Magazine Articles, etc. goes here
KevinMD June 6, 2015, first appeared in Littoral Medicine, first appeared in Littoral Medicine, first appeared in Littoral Medicine
Journal of Medical Humanities
Originally published in Hastings Center Report, an ethics journal, it was somehow picked up by Medscape and surprisingly became the most downloaded article for Medscape Emergency Medicine in 2012.
Annals of Internal Medicine 2012;156:836-837.
University of Toronto Medical Journal. First appeared in Ars Medica
NYU Literature, Arts and Medicine blog